The Infinite Wait: A Peek Behind the Curtain

For our second meeting, my book club read The Infinite Wait and Other Stories by Julia Wertz. The member who chose it was interested in having the group read a graphic novel, and of the options she suggested, The Infinite Wait won the popular vote by a landslide.

0987963023-01-_sx450_sy635_sclzzzzzzz_

Turns out that the group had very mixed reviews about the book. A couple people really liked it, while most found it just ok. I am definitely in the second camp.

So why didn’t we like it? I can’t speak for everyone who found the book lackluster, but I know for me, it was a question of context. The Infinite Wait is a look at some of Wertz’s life, particularly as it pertains to her start in comics. But, I’d never read anything else by her. This made the book feel like a look behind the scenes of a play I hadn’t watched. I feel that if I’d been a fan of Wertz, or familiar with her at all, I would have enjoyed The Infinite Wait much, much more.

The members who enjoyed the book quite a bit were also mostly unfamiliar with Wertz’s work, but were more heavily involved in the artistic/creator scene, so they could empathize with her struggles to get started in the comic business a bit more. If you’re in their boat, you’ll probably very much enjoy The Infinite Wait.

But overall, I’m writing this one off as a “meh.” It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

