Calvin: Review

TL;DR Plot Synopsis

Calvin was born the day the last Calvin and Hobbes comic was published, and has always identified strongly with the strip. When he begins seeing a giant tiger calling himself Hobbes and is diagnosed with schizophrenia, he decides the only way to get better is to get Bill Watterson to create one last Calvin and Hobbes, one where Calvin is grown-up and normal.

Review

Logan (my husband) has been reacquainting himself with manga lately, which is housed in the Young Adult section of the library. While waiting on him to pick some things to take home, I browsed the YA shelves. I don’t often come to the YA section, so I was seeing a lot of new stuff.
I picked up The Boy Meets Girl Massacre and Calvin during that same library trip. I’ve been working my way (very slowly) through a heavy nonfiction tome and wanted some short books to sprinkle into my reading time so I didn’t burn myself out. And these two delivered. Calvin was short and the subject matter seemed fairly light.
And it is. Yes, Calvin has schizophrenia, but he’s still functioning and has a sense of humor about the whole thing, so it doesn’t get too heavy. The story’s core is a great idea and there is enough there for the book to remain interesting from beginning to end, but it still wasn’t for me.
Despite wanting something that wasn’t particularly taxing, the style of Calvin bothered me. It just felt very YA. And while there’s nothing wrong with that, I think reading it right after The Boy Meets Girl Massacre skewed my view of it. I haven’t been into the YA feel lately, and reading two in a row was a little much. That being said, if you don’t mind novels that feel YA, you probably won’t have any problems with this one. It’s well-written and well-paced.

Recommendation

Read It If:

  • you’re looking for something short
  • you’re interested in portrayals of individuals with schizophrenia

Skip It If:

  • you’re not into the YA style
  • you’re looking for something heavily involving the Calvin and Hobbes strip

23310675

Leave a Reply

