Career of Evil: Review

Plot Synopsis

Business is going well for Strike and Robin after their successful completion of two high-profile cases. But when Robin is sent a severed leg, they embark upon a new mystery whose roots are deeply twisted and intensely personal.

Review

After a hefty amount of time on the library waiting list, I finally got to read Career of Evil this past month. I’ve enjoyed the Cormoran Strike series up to this point, so figured I’d enjoy the third installment. My assumption was correct.

I envy Galbraith’s ability to craft a mystery as solid as the one in Career of Evil. Plotting such a thing is a nightmare: Give away too much and your readers will solve the case and get bored, but give away too little, and the ending won’t be satisfying because they couldn’t have figured it out themselves. Galbraith does an excellent job. I found myself forming theories, only to second-guess myself and change my opinions with each new bit of information that Robin and Strike uncovered. Despite the spread of suspicion across multiple characters, the reveal was completely believable and quite satisfying.

With my fondness for the book firmly established, there were some aspects of it that disturbed me. There’s a lot of violence against women in this book, both sexual and non, and much of it was difficult to read. This says good things about Galbraith’s writing ability, but bad things for my state of mind. I’m not triggered by accounts of abuse or rape, but that doesn’t mean reading about them isn’t hard. It is. And people interested in the book should know that these themes are present and heavy throughout. If you’re a lady, you aren’t going to want to read this book and then walk around the streets alone. Be warned.

Read It If:

  • you’ve read the rest of the Cormoran Strike series and enjoyed it

Skip It If:

  • violence against women (including sexual violence) triggers you
  • you haven’t read the other books of the series yet

25735012

Leave a Reply

