So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed: Review

TL;DR Synopsis: Through social media, public shaming has come back in a way that hasn’t been seen since Ye Olden Days(TM) and it’s having a profound effect on the recipients.
TL;DR Review: I liked it, but not as much as I would have if I used Twitter more.
23255422
I picked up a copy of So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed after listening to the author, Jon Ronson, on an episode of the Nerdist podcast. He was a treat to listen to and I found his points interesting, so I figured, why not pick up the book?
I liked SYBPS, but felt as if I was the wrong audience the entire time I was reading. I’m not very involved on social media, especially not Twitter, so I didn’t really find myself identifying with the people he was talking about. To be totally honest, I’ve never even seen any of the shaming he’s talking about. I know it’s there, but my feed is so tame, I’ve never experienced any of the shaming he speaks of, even as an observer.
That being said, SYBPS is a good read, and if you’re interested in social media and modern communications, you’ll probably enjoy it. It’s well-written and goes by very quickly due to its blend of interviews and personal anecdotes.
One thought on “So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed: Review

Leave a Reply

